WLRN News has won three awards from the Florida Associated Press Broadcasters. Ten additional works are finalists for awards, which will be announced next month.

The three winners for the 2016 Florida Associated Press Broadcasters awards are:

- Investigative Series

WLRN Public Television was honored with an award recognizing one of its original productions during the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences' 2016 Suncoast Regional Emmy Awards on Saturday. 

The WLRN original production "Plight of the Plume Birds" was acknowledged as one of five winners in the environment category. The 14-minute documentary was written and directed by former WLRN Director of Television Production and Programming Alan Tomlinson and produced by Francesca De Onis.

Congratulations are in order, kind of, for a few exemplary researchers and one massive multinational corporation.

This year's Ig Nobel awards — the rather-less-noble-than-the-Nobel awards for "improbable" research and accomplishments — were announced Thursday night.

The honorees included a man who lived as a goat, a man who lived as a badger, a man who put tiny pants on rats and tracked their sex lives, a team who investigated the personalities of rocks, and Volkswagen.

The 2016 Emmy Award nominations were announced Thursday morning in Los Angeles. The full list of nominations is here.

Although HBO's hit Veep received the most comedy nominations, the ABC show Black-ish was nominated in three top categories, including best comedy series and best lead actor and actress in a comedy series.


WLRN Public Media won nine awards for work produced during 2015 at this year's Public Radio News Directors Inc. annual conference. The honors, part of PRNDI’s highly-competitive national awards competition, were announced during a ceremony June 25 during the organization’s annual conference in St. Louis.

WLRN News has won three recognitions in the latest edition of the National Edward R. Murrow Awards.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards are issued by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) to honor "outstanding achievements in electronic journalism" since 1971. News organizations from all 50 states submit their best work for this competition. 

WLRN Wins Six Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Apr 19, 2016

Judges of the Radio Television Digital News Association awarded WLRN News with six regional awards in the 2016 Edward R. Murrow Awards competition. WLRN competes in RTDNA Region 13, which is comprised of Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico and the U.S.Virgin Islands. The station won four regional Murrow awards last year.


WLRN-TV Wins NETA Award For 'Journey To The Macy's Parade'

Oct 8, 2015

WLRN’s Journey to the Macy’s Parade TV documentary took the Best Content Production award at the National Educational Telecommunications Association Awards Monday, earning a “perfect score” from judges.

Team members Mia Laurenzo, Jamie March and Alan Tomlinson were honored with the award in the Television Documentary Category at the NETA annual awards ceremony, held in Tampa.

WLRN Wins National Minority Journalism Awards

Sep 25, 2015
National Association of Hispanic Journalists

WLRN’s coverage of black and Hispanic subject matter has been recognized for its excellence at the national level.


WLRN radio news staffers won awards from the National Association of Hispanic Journalists (NAHJ) as well as the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) in competitions with stations in New York, Chicago, Boston, Texas and California.


WLRN Wins At The 2015 Sunshine State Awards

Aug 18, 2015

WLRN-Miami Herald News took home 11 awards at the 2015 SPJ Sunshine State Awards event this past weekend at the annual conference and ceremony hosted by the Florida chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ).

The Sunshine State awards competition recognizes the best work by Florida media outlets each year. Within the Radio Division, WLRN collected 9 awards for outstanding work and secured two additional honors in the "special categories" division, which is open to professionals working in television, radio, newspapers, magazines, photography and online.

Wilson Sayre / WLRN

WLRN-Miami Herald News won 14 first-place awards and seven second-place awards during the Florida Associated Press Broadcasters awards competition for work produced during 2014. Results were announced at a banquet in Orlando Saturday. 

Sunshine State Shines On WLRN Coverage

Aug 12, 2014

WLRN once again rocked the state as judges of the annual Sunshine State awards recognized Florida journalists for excellent work in 2013. 

Laura Coburn / WLRN

Each year more than 100 public radio news directors gather to conduct industry business hoping they’ll return home with an award or two recognizing their team's work as outstanding. This June, the WLRN-Miami Herald News team picked up five of the news awards at the annual PRNDI conference.

Three first place awards went to:

WLRN is the best radio news station in the southeast region, according to judges of the annual Green Eyeshade awards.  Our journalists’ 2013 work swept the media competition among 11 states capturing nine first place awards including Best of Division - Radio.

WLRN-Miami Herald News received four regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for work completed during 2013.

The station, which airs on 91.3 FM and, received Overall Excellence, News Documentary, News Series and Hard News Reporting honors for Region 13, which includes Florida, Georgia, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.