WLRN News Wins First in 2015 Sunshine State Awards

Jul 15, 2016

WLRN won six first-place honors and a total of 12 recognitions  in the 2016 edition of the Sunshine State Awards competition, which is administered by the Society of Professional Journalists. The station, which airs on 91.3 FM and WLRN.org, won first place in the following categories:  

Integrity Florida Award for Public Corruption Reporting 

WLRN-Miami Herald News: License to Launder: Cash, Cops and the Cartels

Online, User-Generated Content 

WLRN News:  Zip Odes - WLRN News Staff

Radio, Public Affairs

WLRN News: The Sunshine Economy On The Edge Of Adulthood - Tom Hudson, Wilson Sayre & WLRN News Staff 

Radio, General Coverage

WLRN-Miami Herald News: Falling Into The Gap: Florida's Health Care Coverage Gap - Wilson Sayre, Sammy Mack & Daniel Chang 

Radio, Investigative Reporting

Florida Center for Investigative Reporting & WLRN News:  In Florida, Officials Ban Term ‘Climate Change’ - Tristram Korten, Alicia Zuckerman

Radio, Feature Reporting

1st Place WLRN News - Two Stories From The End Of The Road: Wilson Sayre, Julia Duba, Kenny Malone & Alicia Zuckerman



WLRN News also received recognition in the following categories: 

Anchor of the Year (radio and TV)

Finalist WLRN News - Christine DiMattei

Radio, Feature Reporting 

2nd Place WLRN News -  Hurricane Wilma: Sammy Mack, Wilson Sayre, Julia Duba & Nancy Klingener





Radio, Feature Reporting

3rd Place WLRN News: When Key West Was Cuban Nancy Klingener

Online, Multimedia Feature

2nd place WLRN-Miami Herald News: The Migration Maze

Online, Infographic

2nd Place, WLRN News: Photos: Old South In Tallahassee, Before Political Standoffs - Alexander Gonzalez 

Online Blog Writing

3rd place, WLRN News - Tim Padgett, Tim Padgett's Opinion