baseball http://wlrn.org en VIDEO: Boos And A Blooper For A-Rod http://wlrn.org/post/video-boos-and-blooper-rod Here's <a href="http://wapc.mlb.com/play?content_id=29461803" target="_blank">a better look and listen</a> to what it was like Monday night in Chicago when New York Yankees third baseman Alex Rodriguez returned to the lineup on the same day he was <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/08/05/209114010/you-be-the-commissioner-what-should-happen-to-a-rod" target="_blank">hit with a 211-game suspension</a> for allegedly using performance-enhancing substances (he can play while he appeals that punishment).<p>As <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/08/05/209322796/chicago-cr Tue, 06 Aug 2013 11:56:00 +0000 Mark Memmott 18570 at http://wlrn.org VIDEO: Boos And A Blooper For A-Rod With An Assist From Smugglers, Cuban Players Make It To U.S. http://wlrn.org/post/assist-smugglers-cuban-players-make-it-us Cigars aren't the only thing smuggled out of Cuba these days.<p>Cuban baseball players are also a hot commodity, and sports agents in the U.S. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 21:35:57 +0000 Tyler Greenawalt 17908 at http://wlrn.org With An Assist From Smugglers, Cuban Players Make It To U.S. How The Marlins Stadium Deal Has Changed South Florida http://wlrn.org/post/live-chat-marlins-stadium-deal-today-1100-am <p></p><p>The public funding in the Marlins stadium deal has been called one of the biggest boondoggles in sports history. But hardly any stadium now is built with only private funds. Why do governments fund these facilities?</p><p>On April 1, opening day of Marlins' season, Rick Horrow with WLRN-Miami Herald News hosted a special roundtable, Foul Ball! The Future of the Marlins in Miami, a two-hour radio special on the impact of the Marlins stadium deal. Some of the guests included:</p> Mon, 01 Apr 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Elaine Chen 11557 at http://wlrn.org How The Marlins Stadium Deal Has Changed South Florida Venezuelan Team's Request For A Moment Of Silence For Hugo Chavez Turned Down http://wlrn.org/post/venezuelan-teams-request-moment-silence-hugo-chavez-turned-down <p>Venezuela's national baseball team was warming up ahead of Tuesday evening's exhibition game against the Miami Marlins in Jupiter, Fla., when <a href="http://wlrn.org/post/hugo-chavez-dead-heres-what-you-should-know" target="_blank">news arrived that President Hugo Chavez had died</a>.</p> Wed, 06 Mar 2013 12:31:27 +0000 Dan Grech 10396 at http://wlrn.org Venezuelan Team's Request For A Moment Of Silence For Hugo Chavez Turned Down South Florida May Be Source Of Banned Drugs In Major League Baseball http://wlrn.org/post/south-florida-may-be-source-banned-drugs-major-league-baseball <p></p><p></p><p></p><p>South Florida may be a source for banned performance-enhancing drugs making their way into major league baseball.</p><p> Mon, 28 Jan 2013 23:00:00 +0000 Arianna Prothero 8454 at http://wlrn.org South Florida May Be Source Of Banned Drugs In Major League Baseball Marlins Shed All-Star Talent; Fans Feel Betrayed http://wlrn.org/post/marlins-shed-all-star-talent-fans-feel-betrayed <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 1.5em; padding-left: 10px; color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: Georgia, 'Times New Roman', Times, 'DejaVu Serif', serif; font-size: 15px;">A small group of fans recently gathered at the Marlins' new half-billion dollar stadium in Miami's Little Havana to protest in both in Spanish and in English. They want new owners after the team's latest purge: the trade of All-Stars Jose Reyes, Mark Buehrle and Josh Johnson to the Blue Jays in return for seven mostly unknown players.</p> Sat, 24 Nov 2012 01:20:48 +0000 Phil Latzman 5225 at http://wlrn.org Marlins Shed All-Star Talent; Fans Feel Betrayed Miami Marlins Choose New Manager, Again http://wlrn.org/post/miami-marlins-choose-new-manager-again <p></p><div>The Miami Marlins have chosen their new manager.</div><div> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 17:52:07 +0000 Phil Latzman 3937 at http://wlrn.org Miami Marlins Choose New Manager, Again