newscast http://wlrn.org en NEWSCAST: State Gives Green Light To FPL Rate Increase http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-state-gives-green-light-fpl-rate-increase <p></p><div></div><div>&nbsp;</div><div> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 13:05:37 +0000 WLRN-Miami Herald News 6292 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: State Gives Green Light To FPL Rate Increase NEWSCAST: Palm Beach County Schools To Place GPS On Buses http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-palm-beach-county-schools-place-gps-buses <p></p><div></div><div>Parents of school children in Palm Beach County will soon be able to track the location of their child's bus.</div><div> Fri, 14 Dec 2012 12:30:14 +0000 WLRN-Miami Herald News 6290 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: Palm Beach County Schools To Place GPS On Buses NEWSCAST: How South Florida Dodged Hurricanes This Season http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-how-south-florida-dodged-hurricanes-season <p></p><div></div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>Today is the last day of hurricane season, and South Florida was largely spared. The season concludes a busier-than-expected year punctuated by one of the most damaging storms on record.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>We take a look back at Sandy, a storm with a track forecasters say they haven't seen in more than 150 years.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>WLRN-Miami Herald News has details on how a no-show weather pattern from the Pacific may be to blame for an unusual six months.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div></div><p></p> Fri, 30 Nov 2012 11:29:17 +0000 WLRN-Miami Herald News 5544 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: How South Florida Dodged Hurricanes This Season NEWSCAST: Black Friday Draws Thousands Out On Thanksgiving http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-black-friday-draws-thousands-out-thanksgiving <p></p><p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;">Hitting the malls on Thanksgiving night is becoming more common in South Florida. Stores are offering more than sales to entice shoppers away from the dinner table.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p><p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;">Details from WLRN-Miami Herald News.&nbsp;</span></p><p></p> Fri, 23 Nov 2012 11:50:27 +0000 Arianna Prothero 5192 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: Black Friday Draws Thousands Out On Thanksgiving NEWSCAST: Broward Joins Miami-Dade With Final Vote Tally http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-broward-joins-miami-dade-final-vote-tally <p></p><p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal; ">Broward has joined Miami Dade in wrapping up its final vote count.</span></p><p></p><p> Fri, 09 Nov 2012 13:45:49 +0000 WLRN-Miami Herald News 4399 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: Broward Joins Miami-Dade With Final Vote Tally NEWSCAST: Romney Campaigns In Miami http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-romney-campaigns-miami <p></p><p>Mitt Romney tries to pivot from disaster in the northeast to the final week of campaigning in Florida. Meanwhile, the death toll rises in Haiti as a result of Sandy.&nbsp;</p><p> Thu, 01 Nov 2012 10:58:28 +0000 WLRN-Miami Herald News 3914 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: Romney Campaigns In Miami NEWSCAST: Good Night For the Heat, New Rings and Victory Over Celtics http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-good-night-heat-new-rings-and-victory-over-celtics <p></p><div></div><div>&nbsp;</div><div>The Miami Heat have begun defense of their NBA title in style as South Florida airports continue to deal with the aftermath of Sandy.</div><div>&nbsp;</div><div> Wed, 31 Oct 2012 11:20:51 +0000 WLRN-Miami Herald News 3848 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: Good Night For the Heat, New Rings and Victory Over Celtics NEWSCAST: Miami Congressman Hit With 11 Ethics Charges http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-miami-congressman-hit-11-ethics-charges <p>All of the misconduct alleged by the commission supposedly occurred while Rivera was a state legislator. In a statement , Rivera denied the charges and accused the Ethics Commission of political motivations.</p><div> Wed, 24 Oct 2012 22:59:51 +0000 WLRN MIAMI HERALD NEWS 3512 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: Miami Congressman Hit With 11 Ethics Charges NEWSCAST: Rick Scott and Charlie Crist Are Busy On The Campaign Trail http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-rick-scott-and-charlie-crist-are-busy-campaign-trail <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; ">In the final weeks of the presidential campaign, Florida's 29 electoral votes are coveted by both sides. That's why&nbsp;</span><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; ">Governor Rick Scott and former Governor Charlie Crist are both busy on the campaign trail in Florida, even though neither one of them will be on the ballot next month.</span></p><p> Fri, 19 Oct 2012 10:40:38 +0000 WLRN MIAMI HERALD NEWS 3183 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: Rick Scott and Charlie Crist Are Busy On The Campaign Trail NEWSCAST: One Still Missing In Rubble From Garage Collapse http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-one-still-missing-rubble-garage-collapse <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; ">The family of the man still missing after the parking garage collapse at Miami Dade College's West Campus is unhappy with the rescue effort.&nbsp;</span></p><div> Mon, 15 Oct 2012 14:00:00 +0000 WLRN MIAMI HERALD NEWS 2896 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: One Still Missing In Rubble From Garage Collapse NEWSCAST: Florida's Hispanic Vote Could Be Up For Grabs http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-floridas-hispanic-vote-could-be-grabs <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; ">A new poll finds President Obama winning the Hispanic vote across the country, but here in Florida things are a lot tighter.&nbsp;</span></p><div> Mon, 15 Oct 2012 12:05:19 +0000 WLRN MIAMI HERALD NEWS 2892 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: Florida's Hispanic Vote Could Be Up For Grabs NEWSCAST - Florida Leads The Nation In Foreclosures http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-florida-leads-nation-foreclosures <p>Florida is at the top or near it in two different categories in the news this week.</p><p>But no one is bragging about it.</p><p>The state now has a higher percentage of homes in foreclosure than any other state and comes in second for cases of investment fraud.</p><p>We explore both of these issues and more in WLRN Miami Herald News.</p><p></p> Fri, 12 Oct 2012 11:45:25 +0000 WLRN Staff 2783 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST - Florida Leads The Nation In Foreclosures NEWSCAST: New Florida Poll Gives Romney 7 Point Lead http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-new-florida-poll-gives-romney-7-point-lead <p></p> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 22:38:24 +0000 Kelley Mitchell 2746 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: New Florida Poll Gives Romney 7 Point Lead NEWSCAST: President Obama Back In Miami Today http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-president-obama-back-miami-today <p></p><div><div>For the second time in the past three weeks, President Barack Obama will appear at the University of Miami, this time for a campaign&nbsp;rally. &nbsp;Floridians have already cast more than 76,000 ballots in the presidential election. &nbsp;The campaigns for the President and Republican challenger Mitt Romney are scrambling to reach out to 2 million other voters who have requested absentee ballots.</div><div> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 12:17:51 +0000 WLRN MIAMI HERALD NEWS 2672 at http://wlrn.org NEWSCAST: President Obama Back In Miami Today NEWSCAST: Rescue Effort Continues At Collapsed Parking Garage in Doral http://wlrn.org/post/newscast-rescue-effort-continues-collapsed-parking-garage-doral <p></p><div>A man trapped in the rubble of a collapsed parking garage at Miami-Dade College's West campus was rescued early this morning after having his legs amputated to free him from the wreckage. Two men are confirmed dead and one remains missing.&nbsp;</div><div> Thu, 11 Oct 2012 11:05:38 +0000 WLRN MIAMI HERALD NEWS 2673 at http://wlrn.org