Miami Gardens http://wlrn.org en Rally For Kidnapped Nigerian Girls Spurs South Florida Involvement http://wlrn.org/post/rally-kidnapped-nigerian-girls-spurs-south-florida-involvement <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">A sea of green and white flooded into Rolling Oaks Park on Saturday, as more than 150</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;people rallied</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> to raise awareness of the recent kidnapping of more than 200 schoolgirls in Nigeria.</span></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 19:55:59 +0000 Selima Hussain 32508 at http://wlrn.org Rally For Kidnapped Nigerian Girls Spurs South Florida Involvement Program Brings Financially Friendly Grocery Tips To Food Deserts http://wlrn.org/post/program-brings-financially-friendly-grocery-tips-food-deserts <p></p><p>FLIPANY, or<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Florida Introduces Physical Activity and Nutrition to Youth, is taking grocery-shopping to another level. The non-profit organization wants to teach Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach County residents how to cook healthy, affordable meals with their groceries.</span></p> Mon, 12 May 2014 07:40:36 +0000 Selima Hussain 32056 at http://wlrn.org Program Brings Financially Friendly Grocery Tips To Food Deserts Jazz In The Gardens Fest Mostly R&B, Hip-Hop -- But For A Reason http://wlrn.org/post/jazz-gardens-fest-mostly-rb-hip-hop-reason <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">South Florida’s Jazz in the Gardens festival kicks off this weekend at </span>SunLife<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Stadium. Now in its ninth&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">year, the festival has a line-up of mostly&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">funk, hip-hop, and R&amp;B artists. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">So the event is hardly about jazz and not in a garden.&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 13 Mar 2014 20:31:01 +0000 Arianna Prothero 29177 at http://wlrn.org Jazz In The Gardens Fest Mostly R&B, Hip-Hop -- But For A Reason Miami Gardens' Top Cop Departs After Request For Federal Civil-Rights Probe http://wlrn.org/post/miami-gardens-top-cop-departs-after-request-federal-civil-rights-probe <p>The chief of the Miami Gardens police department <a href="http://www.miamiherald.com/2013/12/11/3812302/miami-gardens-police-chief-resigns.html" target="_blank">resigned on Wednesday </a>amid allegations that his officers have been harassing and intimidating local citizens.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Meanwhile, a response from the U. S. Justice Department is awaited after an NAACP request on Tuesday for a special civil rights investigation.</span></p> Wed, 11 Dec 2013 23:41:57 +0000 Rick Stone 25000 at http://wlrn.org Miami Gardens' Top Cop Departs After Request For Federal Civil-Rights Probe South Florida Nigerians Plan Museum, Cultural Center http://wlrn.org/post/south-florida-nigerians-plan-museum-cultural-center <p></p><p><span style="color: rgb(26, 39, 50); font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 19px; text-align: left; ">On a barren piece of land in Miami Gardens enclosed by a chain link fence, South Florida’s Nigerian community envision a cultural anchor, an African museum that will showcase the richness of their homeland and continent.</span></p> Tue, 13 Aug 2013 13:00:00 +0000 Nadege Green 18930 at http://wlrn.org South Florida Nigerians Plan Museum, Cultural Center