media http://wlrn.org en Censored 2014: Fearless Speech in Fateful Times http://wlrn.org/post/censored-2014-fearless-speech-fateful-times <p></p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 25789 at http://wlrn.org Censored 2014: Fearless Speech in Fateful Times Univision's New Cable Channel Fusion Opens HQ In Doral http://wlrn.org/post/univisions-new-cable-channel-fusion-opens-hq-doral <p><span style="color: rgb(26, 39, 50); font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 19px; text-align: left; ">Univision dominates Spanish-language broadcasting, more than doubling the audience of its largest rival, </span>Telemundo<span style="color: rgb(26, 39, 50); font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 19px; text-align: left; ">. But starting this fall, Univision will tackle an audience that has always been foreign to the Doral-based network: people who watch television in English.</span></p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 15:39:10 +0000 Doug Hanks 19802 at http://wlrn.org Univision's New Cable Channel Fusion Opens HQ In Doral Will 'The New York Times' Be Next To Be Sold? http://wlrn.org/post/will-new-york-times-be-next-be-sold After <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/08/05/209263622/washington-post-to-be-sold-to-amazons-jeff-bezos" target="_blank">Monday's surprising news</a> that Amazon.com founder Jeff Bezos is buying <em>The Washington Post</em> for $250 million — a deal that came <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/08/03/208579489/the-new-york-times-co-agrees-to-sell-the-boston-globe" target="_blank">just days after the <em>Boston Globe</em> was sold</a> for $70 million to Boston Red Sox owner John Henry — a question naturally occurs:<p>Who's next?<p>On Tuesday, at least two long-tim Tue, 06 Aug 2013 14:53:51 +0000 Mark Memmott 18574 at http://wlrn.org Will 'The New York Times' Be Next To Be Sold? Jeff Bezos: A Rocket Launched From Miami’s Palmetto High http://wlrn.org/post/jeff-bezos-rocket-launched-miami-s-palmetto-high <p><span style="color: rgb(26, 39, 50); font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 19px; text-align: left; ">When Jeffrey Preston </span>Bezos<span style="color: rgb(26, 39, 50); font-family: arial, helvetica, sans-serif; line-height: 19px; text-align: left; "> graduated from Miami Palmetto Senior High in 1982, he had big plans to change the world.</span></p> Tue, 06 Aug 2013 14:50:45 +0000 Luisa Yanez 18577 at http://wlrn.org Jeff Bezos: A Rocket Launched From Miami’s Palmetto High In Bezos' Purchase Of 'Post,' Tech And Media Keep Melding http://wlrn.org/post/bezos-purchase-post-tech-and-media-keep-melding The news spread with the speed of the Internet: <em>The Washington Post</em>, a newspaper that helped bring down a president, <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2013/08/05/209263622/washington-post-to-be-sold-to-amazons-jeff-bezos">would be sold to Jeff Bezos</a>, the tech titan who started Amazon.<p><em>The Post</em>'s sale is a stunner. But that a big-name tech entrepreneur bought a struggling media company isn't — it's part of a move becoming more common in recent years. Tue, 06 Aug 2013 11:52:37 +0000 Elise Hu 18550 at http://wlrn.org In Bezos' Purchase Of 'Post,' Tech And Media Keep Melding More Latinos Read All About It In English http://wlrn.org/post/more-latinos-read-all-about-it-english A growing share of Latinos in the U.S. Wed, 24 Jul 2013 11:51:30 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 17935 at http://wlrn.org More Latinos Read All About It In English