Homestead http://wlrn.org en Homestead Earns $26 Million In Voter Trust http://wlrn.org/post/homestead-earns-26-million-voter-trust <p></p><p><strong>UPDATE </strong>8 a.m., May 14: The <strong><a href="http://local.cityofhomestead.com/site-files/2014SpecialElections/2014SpecialElections.htm" target="_blank">City of Homestead</a></strong> reports voters overwhelmingly approved bond referendums Tuesday.</p> Tue, 13 May 2014 17:42:57 +0000 Elaine Chen 32249 at http://wlrn.org Homestead Earns $26 Million In Voter Trust What Does Homestead Mayor Jeff Porter Need To Know? http://wlrn.org/post/what-does-homestead-mayor-jeff-porter-need-know <p></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Our If I Were Mayor project continues as we bring your ideas to the mayors in office. </span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Homestead's mayor Jeff Porter, a former councilman and vice mayor, took office last fall. He follows Steve Bateman, one of the three mayors arrested in August of 2013 for corruption charges.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 03 Mar 2014 02:23:32 +0000 Jessica Meszaros 28632 at http://wlrn.org What Does Homestead Mayor Jeff Porter Need To Know? 'I Can't Undo The Past': Interview With Homestead Mayor Jeff Porter http://wlrn.org/post/i-cant-undo-past-interview-homestead-mayor-jeff-porter <p></p> Thu, 27 Feb 2014 23:12:24 +0000 Elaine Chen 23544 at http://wlrn.org 'I Can't Undo The Past': Interview With Homestead Mayor Jeff Porter WLRN's Five Most Popular Stories For Jan. 6-10 http://wlrn.org/post/wlrns-five-most-popular-stories-jan-6-10 <p>This week's top attention-grabbing&nbsp; stories include:&nbsp; A proposal to add a Satanic statue in the Oklahoma Capitol, a Vero Beach company employing all-day surveillance of company smartphones and computers,&nbsp; a free trolley giving locals access to Biscayne and Everglades national parks, and more.</p> Wed, 15 Jan 2014 00:53:45 +0000 Diego Saldaña-Rojas 26430 at http://wlrn.org WLRN's Five Most Popular Stories For Jan. 6-10 Homestead Launches Free National Parks Trolley http://wlrn.org/post/homestead-launches-free-national-parks-trolley <p><span style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); line-height: normal; font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 06 Jan 2014 14:17:44 +0000 Jessica Meszaros 26058 at http://wlrn.org Homestead Launches Free National Parks Trolley Robots Are Invading Homestead http://wlrn.org/post/robots-are-invading-homestead <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The qualifying trials for the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency Robotics Challenge start Friday. The robot races are sponsored by the Pentagon’s research unit.</span></p> Fri, 20 Dec 2013 19:11:21 +0000 Sammy Mack 25445 at http://wlrn.org Robots Are Invading Homestead Homestead Aims High With Observation-Tower Plan http://wlrn.org/post/homestead-aims-high-observation-tower-plan <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Imagine this: You’re heading down the Florida Turnpike on your way to the Keys and spot this interesting-looking steel tower.&nbsp; It’s got an observation deck that corkscrews from the ground all the way to a height of about 560 feet.</span></p><p>You’re gonna stop the car, right?</p><p>That’s what Homestead officials are counting on.&nbsp; The city is considering building such a tower to attract tourists to its downtown.</p> Thu, 19 Dec 2013 20:57:13 +0000 Christine DiMattei 25342 at http://wlrn.org Homestead Aims High With Observation-Tower Plan Police Arrest Homestead Mayor For Ethics Violations http://wlrn.org/post/police-arrest-homestead-mayor-ethics-violations <p></p><p>Homestead Mayor Steve Bateman was arrested on Wednesday morning for allegedly using his position as mayor to obtain private employment.</p><p>According to the charges, Bateman had a deal with the nonprofit Community Health of South Florida (CHI) to be paid $125 an hour for consulting services. Authorities also believe CHI set aside a total of $120,000 to pay him and hired an assistant for him.</p><p>Bateman was arrested at his home.</p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 15:13:15 +0000 Patience Haggin 19771 at http://wlrn.org Police Arrest Homestead Mayor For Ethics Violations End Of The Line: Postcard From Alabama Jack’s http://wlrn.org/post/end-line-postcard-alabama-jack-s <p class="mceTemp mceIEcenter" style="text-align: left;">If you follow U.S. 1 to the very end of the Florida peninsula, veer onto Card Sound Road, and make your way through the mangrove swamps, you’ll find it.&nbsp; A wooden shanty with a roof but no walls: an open-air bar and restaurant.&nbsp; It’s the very last place on the U.S. mainland.&nbsp; And it’s called <a href="http://www.alabamajacks.com/" target="_blank" title="Alabama Jack's">Alabama Jack’s.</a></p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 22:34:35 +0000 Robert Lyle 1789 at http://wlrn.org End Of The Line: Postcard From Alabama Jack’s Human Hair Is Farmers’ Friend http://wlrn.org/post/human-hair-farmers-friend <p>That’s according to Blair Blacker, and he should know.&nbsp; In this story, host Dan Grech visits a&nbsp;warehouse in Florida City&nbsp;with Blacker to have a look at a novel product– mats made from human hair.&nbsp; Blacker says the mats fertilize plants better than most herbicides, plus they prevent&nbsp;weeds&nbsp;and conserve water.&nbsp; The circular mats, made by <a href="http://www.smartgrow.us/" target="_blank" title="SmartGrow">SmartGrow</a>,&nbsp;fit snugly around a plant’s base and biodegrade over time.</p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 20:27:12 +0000 Dan Grech 2249 at http://wlrn.org Human Hair Is Farmers’ Friend