Entrepreneurship http://wlrn.org en South Florida Third Of 15 Metro Areas In Entrepreneurial Activity http://wlrn.org/post/south-florida-third-15-metro-areas-entrepreneurial-activity <p>A study calculating the rate of people to companies in the U.S.' 15 largest metro areas ranked South Florida third for entrepreneurial activity.</p><p>The <a href="http://www.kauffman.org/" target="_blank">Kauffman Foundation</a>&nbsp;analyzed Census data and figured out South Florida's rate at .43 percent, 15 percent higher than the national average. San Francisco and Los Angeles received the top two spots.</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 19:34:58 +0000 Diego Saldaña-Rojas 30662 at http://wlrn.org South Florida Third Of 15 Metro Areas In Entrepreneurial Activity Doing Business While Black http://wlrn.org/post/doing-business-while-black <div style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;"></div><div style="color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: arial, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; line-height: normal;">The quartet pictured above own and operate their businesses. &nbsp;Some may consider them black businesses. &nbsp;Some may not. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 23:30:48 +0000 Tom Hudson 26624 at http://wlrn.org Doing Business While Black Why I Moved To Miami And Other Techies Should, Too http://wlrn.org/post/why-i-moved-miami-and-other-techies-should-too <p>A lot of my friends in the San Francisco Bay area (looking at you, Adam), New York and Seattle often ask me "why I still live in Miami." This post will, hopefully, explain why I love Miami so much as a Web developer and entrepreneur.</p><p>When I refer to "Miami," I mean the downtown area, where everything is walkable or dense -- not Miami Beach, North Miami, Coral Gables or South Florida.</p><p><strong>1. Affordability is the name of the game.</strong></p> Wed, 30 Oct 2013 21:39:15 +0000 Auston Bunsen 22924 at http://wlrn.org Why I Moved To Miami And Other Techies Should, Too Reclaiming Our Democracy http://wlrn.org/post/reclaiming-our-democracy <div style="margin:0;"><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 22106 at http://wlrn.org Reclaiming Our Democracy Why This $350 Million Online Language School Moved To Miami http://wlrn.org/post/why-350-million-online-language-school-moved-miami <p>When Andrés Moreno, the chief executive officer of Open English gets off the plane in Bogotá, São Paolo, Caracas or pretty much any other major Latin American city, people who recognize him from the company’s TV ads stop to ask for photos and autographs.</p><p>So why, with all this notoriety, did the CEO of a $350 million dollar company that specializes in teaching English online to Spanish- and Portuguese-speaking students move the company’s main office from Latin America to Miami three years ago?</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 11:00:00 +0000 Nicole Palsuka 15943 at http://wlrn.org Why This $350 Million Online Language School Moved To Miami Building Miami's Silicon Beach One Startup At A Time http://wlrn.org/post/building-miamis-silicon-beach-one-startup-time <p>As classmates at Ransom Everglades School in Coconut Grove, Wifredo Fernandez and <a href="http://www.wlrn.org/post/five-reasons-hack-change-wynwood-saturday" target="_blank">Daniel Lafuente</a> were “always cooking up ideas for businesses” that the pair dreamed of launching.</p> Wed, 12 Jun 2013 10:00:00 +0000 Jan Lauren Boyles 15411 at http://wlrn.org Building Miami's Silicon Beach One Startup At A Time