O Miami http://wlrn.org en #ThisIsWhere Poetry Contest Winners http://wlrn.org/post/thisiswhere-poetry-contest-winners <p><iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/videoseries?list=PLdetTLuGoI-LAaJQyA31W8aJxYF0Ms061" width="560"></iframe></p><p>We announced our contest winners at the <strong><a href="https://www.facebook.com/events/764343620245378/" target="_blank">#ThisIsWhere finale at Miami Club Rum</a></strong> on Wednesday, April 30. This is where we share them with you.</p><p>Read the winning poems below and watch three of our winners recite their poems above. Then stick around for an extra poem about one of South Floridians' favorite experiences.</p> Fri, 02 May 2014 19:18:44 +0000 Maria Murriel 31727 at http://wlrn.org #ThisIsWhere Poetry Contest Winners Vote For Your Favorite #ThisIsWhere Poem! http://wlrn.org/post/vote-your-favorite-thisiswhere-poem <p>We've reached the finals of our #ThisIsWhere poetry contest!<br /><strong>Click on the logo above to see the popular-vote finalists, and vote below.</strong><script>(function(a){var b="embedly-platform",c="script";if(!a.getElementById(b)){var d=a.createElement(c);d.id=b;d.async=true;d.src=("https:"===document.location.protocol?"https":"http")+"://cdn.embedly.com/widgets/platform.js";var e=document.getElementsByTagName(c)[0];e.parentNode.insertBefore(d,e)}})(document);</script></p> Thu, 24 Apr 2014 22:21:33 +0000 Mark Hedden 31275 at http://wlrn.org Vote For Your Favorite #ThisIsWhere Poem! This Guy Will Publish The Love Letters You Lose http://wlrn.org/post/guy-will-publish-love-letters-you-lose <p>Davy Rothbart is a <a href="http://www.myheartisanidiotbook.com/">writer</a>, <a href="http://www.thisamericanlife.org/search?keys=davy%20rothbart">contributor</a> to This American Life and<a href="http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1736326/?ref_=tt_ov_dr"> filmmaker</a>. But he is probably best known as founder and collector of lost things for <strong><a href="http://foundmagazine.com/">FOUND Magazine</a></strong>, a&nbsp;publication made of "anything that people have found."</p> Fri, 18 Apr 2014 03:21:58 +0000 Wilson Sayre 30957 at http://wlrn.org This Guy Will Publish The Love Letters You Lose A Miami Native Who Remained Local Pens A Poem On Her Dying Breed http://wlrn.org/post/miami-native-who-remained-local-pens-poem-her-dying-breed <p></p><p></p> Wed, 22 May 2013 12:37:00 +0000 Pam L. Weiss 14118 at http://wlrn.org A Miami Native Who Remained Local Pens A Poem On Her Dying Breed Miami's Acceptance Of Syrian Immigrant Inspires Verse http://wlrn.org/post/miamis-acceptance-syrian-immigrant-inspires-verse <p></p> Mon, 20 May 2013 13:11:00 +0000 Aysha Habbaba 14108 at http://wlrn.org Miami's Acceptance Of Syrian Immigrant Inspires Verse South Beach’s “Colorful Mélange” Inspires Poem, Green Sequins Included http://wlrn.org/post/south-beach-s-colorful-m-lange-inspires-poem-green-sequins-included <p></p><p><em>We’ve asked a few of the authors of standout poems for our That’s So Miami project to explain the inspiration behind their work. Find the winners of our contest and more entries&nbsp;<a href="http://wlrn.org/term/thats-so-miami" target="_blank">here</a>.</em></p><p></p><p>Green sequin bikini.</p><p>Purple hair and skinny.</p><p>Red lipped.</p><p>Boob equipped.</p><p>Blue high heeled kid.</p><p>I saw it, I did.</p><p>Thats&nbsp;so Miami.</p> Mon, 13 May 2013 12:04:00 +0000 Beatricia Sagar 13846 at http://wlrn.org South Beach’s “Colorful Mélange” Inspires Poem, Green Sequins Included Congrats On Our O, Miami-WLRN Poetry Project http://wlrn.org/post/congrats-our-o-miami-wlrn-poetry-project <p><iframe frameborder="0" height="54" src="//www.thetakeaway.org/widgets/ondemand_player/#file=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.thetakeaway.org%2Faudio%2Fxspf%2F289634%2F;containerClass=takeaway" width="474"></iframe></p> Mon, 29 Apr 2013 16:44:14 +0000 Daniel Hicks 13205 at http://wlrn.org Congrats On Our O, Miami-WLRN Poetry Project This Weekend, Find Poetic Inspiration At The Bottom Of A Cocktail -- Literally http://wlrn.org/post/weekend-find-poetic-inspiration-bottom-cocktail-literally <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">This weekend, you might notice that the humble coaster beneath your drink has a surprising message. Unlike the fool sitting next to you at the bar, the verses on your coaster are lucid, articulate and wise.</span></p><p>Paul Christiansen, a poet and graduate student at Florida International University, spearheaded the poetry coaster project. It's part of <a href="http://www.omiami.org/read.html?id=1" target="_blank">O Miami, a month-long poetry festival with the goal of exposing everyone in Miami-Dade to a poem in April</a>.</p> Fri, 26 Apr 2013 15:35:16 +0000 Trina Sargalski 13063 at http://wlrn.org This Weekend, Find Poetic Inspiration At The Bottom Of A Cocktail -- Literally Love or Hate Miami? Tell Us In Verse http://wlrn.org/post/love-or-hate-miami-tell-us-verse <p></p><p style="margin-bottom: 0px; padding: 0px; color: rgb(110, 113, 115); font-family: Arial; font-size: 13px; line-height: 15px;">&nbsp;</p><p>In honor of National Poetry Month,&nbsp;WLRN&nbsp;- Miami&nbsp;Herald News is teaming up with the&nbsp;<a href="http://www.omiami.org/read.html?id=3">O, Miami</a>&nbsp;poetry festival to bring you That's So Miami--a project documenting your thoughts about Miami, in verse. &nbsp; &nbsp;</p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 19:11:21 +0000 Elaine Chen 11621 at http://wlrn.org Love or Hate Miami? Tell Us In Verse O, Miami Began With A Simple Idea: Poetry Without The Pipe And Blazer http://wlrn.org/post/o-miami-began-simple-idea-poetry-without-pipe-and-blazer <p></p><p style="margin-top: 18px; margin-bottom: 18px; padding: 0px; border: none; outline: 0px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(35, 38, 42); font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Three years ago, a group of friends and I started to dream up what a lot of people considered impossible: a festival that would bring poetry to all 2.6 million residents of greater Miami.</span></p> Wed, 03 Apr 2013 10:17:00 +0000 P. Scott Cunningham founder O Miami Festival 11789 at http://wlrn.org O, Miami Began With A Simple Idea: Poetry Without The Pipe And Blazer O, Miami Headlines Poetry Month: Here's How To Celebrate http://wlrn.org/post/o-miami-headlines-poetry-month-heres-how-celebrate <p></p> Tue, 02 Apr 2013 15:37:00 +0000 Elizabeth R. Miller Knight Foundation 11744 at http://wlrn.org O, Miami Headlines Poetry Month: Here's How To Celebrate