PortMiami http://wlrn.org en PortMiami Tunnel Opening Postponed To July http://wlrn.org/post/portmiami-tunnel-opening-postponed-july <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The billion-dollar </span>PortMiami<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Tunnel, which was supposed to open at the end of May, is now scheduled to&nbsp;open mid-to-late July.</span></p> Thu, 19 Jun 2014 17:28:44 +0000 Selima Hussain 34206 at http://wlrn.org PortMiami Tunnel Opening Postponed To July May 21: Miami-Dade Commissioners Nix PortMiami Soccer Site http://wlrn.org/post/may-21-miami-dade-commissioners-nix-portmiami-soccer-site <p>Today on WLRN-Miami Herald News, you heard:</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Wed, 21 May 2014 10:35:41 +0000 Marva Hinton 32684 at http://wlrn.org Sunshine Economy: Going Through The Miami Tunnel http://wlrn.org/post/sunshine-economy-going-through-miami-tunnel <p></p><p><iframe allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/kIa9Yiq9n4M" width="560"></iframe></p><p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">I'd been asked a lot of things in advance of an interview with a source, but the text from Chris Hodgkins was my first wardrobe question: "What size shoes do you wear?"</span></p> Tue, 20 May 2014 12:17:00 +0000 Tom Hudson 32164 at http://wlrn.org Sunshine Economy: Going Through The Miami Tunnel May 20, 2014: PortMiami Tunnel Opens http://wlrn.org/post/may-20-2014-portmiami-tunnel-opens <p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 20 May 2014 10:18:19 +0000 Marva Hinton 32610 at http://wlrn.org How A $1 Billion Hole In The Ground Will Impact I-95 http://wlrn.org/post/how-1-billion-hole-ground-will-impact-i-95 <p></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The </span>PortMiami<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> Tunnel--a $1 billion hole in the ground that began with a task force more than 30 years ago--finally celebrates its completion Monday.</span></p><p class="p1"><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Traffic will now be able to access the port from I-395 by taking a the tunnel entrance on Watson Island, driving below Government Cut and resurfacing on Dodge Island, where </span>PortMiami<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is located.</span></p> Mon, 19 May 2014 10:39:23 +0000 Kenny Malone 32518 at http://wlrn.org How A $1 Billion Hole In The Ground Will Impact I-95 Politifact Rates Beckham Stadium Opposition Group's Claim False http://wlrn.org/post/politifact-rates-beckham-stadium-opposition-groups-claim-false-0 <p>PolitiFact Florida has rated false an ad put out by a group opposing David Beckham's proposed soccer stadium in downtown Miami. The Miami Seaport Alliance claims the stadium would threaten PortMiami jobs.</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 19:20:51 +0000 Julia Duba 32399 at http://wlrn.org Politifact Rates Beckham Stadium Opposition Group's Claim False May 13, 2014: Broward Considers Scrubbing Teens' Misdemeanor Records http://wlrn.org/post/may-13-2014-broward-considers-scrubbing-teens-misdemeanor-records <p>Today on WLRN-Miami Herald News, you heard:</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p></p> Tue, 13 May 2014 10:20:49 +0000 Marva Hinton 32240 at http://wlrn.org Mayor Gimenez proposes new location for Beckham's stadium http://wlrn.org/post/mayor-gimenez-proposes-new-location-beckhams-stadium <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Miami-Dade Mayor Carlos </span>Gimenez<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> is proposing a new location for David Beckham’s soccer stadium, and it was on the radar six months ago.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">It’s a boat slip in downtown Miami on Biscayne Bay, between Museum Park and the AmericanAirlines Arena.&nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Gimenez</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"> says the boat slip location would fill in the land and create a pedestrian walkway on Biscayne Bay.</span></p> Tue, 06 May 2014 10:58:42 +0000 Julia Duba & Selima Hussain 31881 at http://wlrn.org Mayor Gimenez proposes new location for Beckham's stadium Beckham Stadium Sparks Debate From PortMiami Protectors http://wlrn.org/post/beckham-stadium-sparks-debate-portmiami-protectors <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The gloves came off Wednesday morning in a debate on whether the Beckham soccer stadium should be built at </span>PortMiami<span style="line-height: 1.5;">. One takeaway was just how complicated this issue has become.</span></p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">With ads against the stadium filling the airwaves; it seems as though getting the port location won't be as simple as Beckham and his team originally anticipated.&nbsp;</span></p> Thu, 01 May 2014 22:30:13 +0000 Lisann Ramos 31636 at http://wlrn.org Beckham Stadium Sparks Debate From PortMiami Protectors Beckham Wants PortMiami http://wlrn.org/post/beckham-wants-portmiami <p>It’s official: David Beckham’s Major League Soccer group has announced it wants to build its stadium on the southwest corner of PortMiami. But there are concerns the road to complete the stadium in that location might be a bit congested.</p><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">With a view of the Miami skyline, the current conception of the stadium has about 24,000 seats. Which, for some downtown residents and port officials, equals cars -- a lot more cars.</span></p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 19:12:31 +0000 Wilson Sayre 29738 at http://wlrn.org Beckham Wants PortMiami Lieutenant Governor Visits PortMiami For Update On Tunnel Progress http://wlrn.org/post/lieutenant-governor-visits-portmiami-update-tunnel-progress <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Sometimes it seems like construction projects around South Florida never end. One major project, however, is getting close. Lieutenant&nbsp;Governor Carlos </span>Lopez-Cantera<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> visited </span>PortMiami<span style="line-height: 1.5;"> this week to tour the tunnel being built there. He says in about 80 days, your commute downtown could get a little shorter.</span></p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 20:23:30 +0000 Hillary Lindwall 28572 at http://wlrn.org Lieutenant Governor Visits PortMiami For Update On Tunnel Progress How Hailing A Cab In Miami-Dade May Be About To Change http://wlrn.org/post/how-hailing-cab-miami-dade-may-be-about-change <div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Miami-Dade commissioners want to make some big changes to the county’s taxi industry.</span></p><p>A slew of reforms are on the table, and county leaders are going to be taking a hard look at them on Tuesday.</p><p>Here’s the rundown on what might change:</p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Arianna Prothero 20840 at http://wlrn.org How Hailing A Cab In Miami-Dade May Be About To Change The Future Of South Florida Ports And Airports http://wlrn.org/post/future-south-florida-sea-ports-and-airports <p></p> Thu, 02 May 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 13367 at http://wlrn.org The Future Of South Florida Ports And Airports Gov. Scott Wants Florida Reimbursed For Port Improvements http://wlrn.org/post/gov-scott-wants-florida-reimbursed-port-improvements <p></p><p>President Barack Obama will be visiting PortMiami Friday to talk about the economy. &nbsp;Gov. Rick Scott, meanwhile, is asking the federal government to repay Florida for the money it has spent on port improvements.</p><p></p><p>Although Scott often criticizes the federal government for spending too much, he says this is different.</p><p></p> Thu, 28 Mar 2013 20:00:00 +0000 Arianna Prothero 11597 at http://wlrn.org Gov. Scott Wants Florida Reimbursed For Port Improvements