government http://wlrn.org en Festivus Man Wants To Bring Satanic Prayer To Deerfield Beach http://wlrn.org/post/festivus-man-wants-bring-satanic-prayer-deerfield-beach <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Chaz Stevens is a South Florida activist who passionately disagrees with a recent U.S. Supreme Court decision. In a five-to-four split, the high court ruled that opening a town board meeting with prayer was constitutional.</span></p><p>So to poke fun at the decision, Stevens has asked Deerfield Beach to allow him to read a Satanic prayer to open a commission meeting.<br /><br />The prayer goes like this:</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 23:49:13 +0000 Wilson Sayre 32429 at http://wlrn.org Festivus Man Wants To Bring Satanic Prayer To Deerfield Beach Mayors' Hands Tied When It Comes To Backyard Gun Ranges http://wlrn.org/post/mayors-hands-tied-when-it-comes-backyard-gun-ranges <p>On Monday, Sunrise Mayor Mike Ryan released a <a href="http://mediad.publicbroadcasting.net/p/wlrn/files/201403/Backyard_Gun_Range.pdf"><strong>series of letters</strong></a> between him, Gov. Rick Scott and Attorney General Pam Bondi, in which he questions the logic of a state law preventing municipalities from implementing their own gun controls.</p> Tue, 04 Mar 2014 18:24:11 +0000 Wilson Sayre 28683 at http://wlrn.org Mayors' Hands Tied When It Comes To Backyard Gun Ranges Food Stamp Cuts Won't Hurt South Florida Too Badly http://wlrn.org/post/food-stamp-cuts-wont-hurt-south-florida-too-badly <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">The U.S. House of Representative voted Wednesday to approve a new farm bill after a two-year standoff. It cuts $8 billion over the next decade from the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program, also known as food stamps, but the brunt of those cuts won’t be felt in South Florida.</span></p><p>The food stamp program accounts for almost 80 percent of the current farm bill. With pressure to reduce spending, it was inevitable that the program would be scaled back.</p> Fri, 31 Jan 2014 00:09:08 +0000 Wilson Sayre 27231 at http://wlrn.org Food Stamp Cuts Won't Hurt South Florida Too Badly Florida Loses Out On Bid For Drone Testing http://wlrn.org/post/florida-loses-out-bid-drone-testing <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia; line-height: 18.421875px; text-align: justify;">Florida wasn't among six states selected Monday by the Federal Aviation Administration for drone development testing. A law approved in 2012 gave the FAA three years to develop a way drones can share airspace and Florida was among those competing for the research work. </span></p> Thu, 02 Jan 2014 23:52:12 +0000 News Service of Florida 25957 at http://wlrn.org Florida Loses Out On Bid For Drone Testing Reclaiming Our Democracy http://wlrn.org/post/reclaiming-our-democracy <div style="margin:0;"><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> Mon, 14 Oct 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 22106 at http://wlrn.org Reclaiming Our Democracy How Hailing A Cab In Miami-Dade May Be About To Change http://wlrn.org/post/how-hailing-cab-miami-dade-may-be-about-change <div><p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Miami-Dade commissioners want to make some big changes to the county’s taxi industry.</span></p><p>A slew of reforms are on the table, and county leaders are going to be taking a hard look at them on Tuesday.</p><p>Here’s the rundown on what might change:</p> Fri, 20 Sep 2013 10:30:00 +0000 Arianna Prothero 20840 at http://wlrn.org How Hailing A Cab In Miami-Dade May Be About To Change Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea http://wlrn.org/post/austerity-history-dangerous-idea <p></p> Mon, 05 Aug 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 18489 at http://wlrn.org Austerity: The History of a Dangerous Idea Inside the Government Secrecy Industry http://wlrn.org/post/inside-government-secrecy-industry <div style="font-family: 'Segoe UI', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; line-height: normal; margin: 0px;"><br><p></p> Tue, 23 Jul 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 17866 at http://wlrn.org Inside the Government Secrecy Industry Watchdog Report Publisher Dan Ricker http://wlrn.org/post/watchdog-report-publisher-dan-ricker <p></p> Mon, 18 Mar 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman & Paul Leary 10920 at http://wlrn.org Watchdog Report Publisher Dan Ricker