tv-stories http://wlrn.org en A Call to Serve: 
Florida Jews and the U.S. Military http://wlrn.org/post/call-serve-florida-jews-and-us-military <p>WLRN's hour long original documentary pays tribute to Florida Jews who have served in military campaigns from the Seminole Wars through Afghanistan, and who sometimes made the ultimate sacrifice for their country.</p><p><strong>Premiered TUESDAY, MAY 13th 2014</strong></p><p>Repeats: Thursday, May 29 at 9 PM</p><p>http://youtu.be/2vd5pC6Nc5o?rel=0</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 19:01:06 +0000 31532 at http://wlrn.org A Call to Serve: 
Florida Jews and the U.S. Military Practice Makes Perfect http://wlrn.org/post/practice-makes-perfect <p><strong>Practice makes perfect for Tarpon Springs as they prepare to march for Macy’s</strong>.</p> Fri, 16 Aug 2013 15:49:23 +0000 Mia Laurenzo 19112 at http://wlrn.org Practice Makes Perfect Lake Placid Celebration http://wlrn.org/post/lake-placid-celebration <p>In celebration of Lake Placid’s recent accolade as being named America’s Most Interesting Town by Reader’s Digest, the Tour Lake Placid Society hosted a premier screening of WLRN’s Weird Florida:&nbsp; On the Road at the Caladium Arts and Crafts Co-op.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 21 Mar 2013 21:58:04 +0000 Mia Laurenzo 11256 at http://wlrn.org Lake Placid Celebration Big Weird Florida Bash http://wlrn.org/post/big-weird-florida-bash-0 <p>From the shadows of Ashley’s Restaurant fans gathered<br>for a Big Weird Florida Bash !!<br><br>Over 100 people showed up for a special screening of the new episode of WLRN’s Weird Florida: On the Road Again.&nbsp;&nbsp; This event took place at Florida’s well-known haunted eatery, Ashley’s Restaurant which lasted until 11pm.&nbsp; In addition to the screening, there was live music, a real séance led by The Great Cindini, and a remote broadcast on Spookhunters Radio from America’s skeptical ghost hunter Owen Sliter. &nbsp; Thu, 21 Mar 2013 21:46:16 +0000 Mia Laurenzo 11255 at http://wlrn.org Big Weird Florida Bash Big Weird Florida Bash ! http://wlrn.org/post/big-weird-florida-bash <p><strong>From the shadows of Ashley's Restaurant, catch the spirit at the </strong></p><p><strong>BIG WEIRD FLORIDA BASH !!<br>SATURDAY, MARCH 9TH 5p.m. till closing !!!</strong></p> Mon, 25 Feb 2013 21:56:01 +0000 Mia Laurenzo 9947 at http://wlrn.org Big Weird Florida Bash ! Highlights from Weird Florida Event http://wlrn.org/post/highlights-weird-florida-event <p><em>(Theme from Twilight Zone echoes in your head while you read this…)</em></p><p>Picture if you will…</p><p>A television studio transformed into a circus sideshow.</p><p>A woman eats fire and throws knives at a human target.</p><p>A skunk ape lurks in the shadows.</p><p> Wed, 13 Feb 2013 16:18:04 +0000 Mia Laurenzo 9319 at http://wlrn.org Highlights from Weird Florida Event Stories From The Overseas Highway http://wlrn.org/post/stories-overseas-highway <p><strong>WLRN's new documentary takes viewers on a rollicking ride along Florida’s only </strong><strong>All-American Road.</strong><br /><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Experience the stunning beauty of the Florida Keys and meet a colorful cast of off-beat characters in this half-hour documentary about an unforgettable road trip on “the highway that goes to sea.”&nbsp; Filmmaker Tim Long (Bohemia in the Tropics, Escape to Dreamland) heads off the mainland down US Highway One from Key Largo to Key West in search of the people who personify the Florida Keys’ unique, funky, laid-back island culture.</span></p><p> Mon, 11 Feb 2013 20:38:28 +0000 Adrienne Kennedy 9202 at http://wlrn.org Stories From The Overseas Highway Hialeah Speedway: No Guts, No Glory http://wlrn.org/post/hialeah-speedway-no-guts-no-glory <p><a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BxDORuQdCf8&amp;feature=player_embedded">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BxDORuQdCf8&amp;feature=player_embedded</a></p> Mon, 08 Oct 2012 17:36:56 +0000 WLRN Staff 207 at http://wlrn.org