Slice of Life http://wlrn.org en Keeper Of The Lighthouse http://wlrn.org/post/keeper-lighthouse <p>Art Makenian is the President of the Hillsboro Lighthouse Society.&nbsp; He loves his voluntary job of looking after this 106 year old Lighthouse, and making sure it is in good working order. Art Makenian is intent on making sure the lighthouse will be preserved for future generations.</p><p>http://youtu.be/jkbbrX8g1DM</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 19:56:05 +0000 Meredith Porte 16236 at http://wlrn.org Keeper Of The Lighthouse Reinventing Opa-locka http://wlrn.org/post/reinventing-opa-locka <p>Opa-locka&nbsp; has long been admired for its 1920’s Moorish architecture, but often feared for its high crime rates.&nbsp; A new revitalization project is&nbsp; involving activists and artists working to bring this city back to its former glory.</p><p>http://youtu.be/jCyLDFDB6xo</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 19:22:30 +0000 Meredith Porte 16235 at http://wlrn.org Reinventing Opa-locka Miracle Man Art Metrano http://wlrn.org/post/miracle-man-art-metrano <p><strong>&nbsp;</strong></p><p></p><p>Stroll down Hollywood Boardwalk, and you might end up stopping by a frozen-yogurt known for its delicious and healthy treats. You might happen to meet the man who owns this charming shop, actor-comedian Art Metrano whose life is truly remarkable.</p><p>http://youtu.be/6-7ukct8ZTk</p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 19:04:26 +0000 Meredith Porte 16230 at http://wlrn.org Miracle Man Art Metrano Life As A Barefoot Mailman http://wlrn.org/post/life-barefoot-mailman <p></p><p>The Barefoot Mailman&nbsp; statue located in Hillsboro Beach serves as a way to honor&nbsp; the Barefoot Mailmen who walked the beaches in the late 1880’s, delivering the mail to people from Palm Beach to Miami.&nbsp; We get a glimpse as to what life was like for these&nbsp; men who were courageous and free spirited.</p><p>http://youtu.be/JOXxlUMKM8c</p><p></p> Fri, 21 Jun 2013 18:43:42 +0000 Meredith Porte 16227 at http://wlrn.org Life As A Barefoot Mailman Protecting The Everglades Through Portraits http://wlrn.org/post/protecting-everglades-through-portraits <p>Classically trained painter Nicholas Petrucci has dedicated much of his artist’s&nbsp; life to portrait painting. He recently embarked on a new project,&nbsp; painting portraits for a single cause.&nbsp; What resulted was Guardians of the Everglades, a series of 10 portraits of people that he sees as the protectors of the Everglades.</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7UXgiQCzV4</p><p></p> Wed, 19 Jun 2013 20:29:30 +0000 Meredith Porte 16100 at http://wlrn.org Protecting The Everglades Through Portraits Mad about marine life http://wlrn.org/post/mad-about-marine-life <p>Marine biologist Danni Washington fell in love with the ocean at 6 years old. She knew then that she would one day do something related to our saline waters. As founder of the Big Blue and You, she educates children about our oceans and why we need to protect them. For her everything in the ocean is in perfect balance… until humans get involved.</p><p></p><p>http://youtu.be/HemIVaY6INs</p><p></p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 22:56:45 +0000 Meredith Porte 10600 at http://wlrn.org Mad about marine life Mother Ocean in the Keys http://wlrn.org/post/mother-ocean-keys <p>Lysa and Reuven Benami had plans to retire, but instead opened Mother Ocean Key Largo. Their funky consignment shop sells everything nautical – fishing gear, motorboat parts, ocean themed art and more. This shop is now one of Key Largo’s most popular stops, keeping Lysa and Reuven busier than ever.</p><p>http://youtu.be/f8SCuTigQSU</p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 21:18:27 +0000 Meredith Porte 10591 at http://wlrn.org Mother Ocean in the Keys The best key lime pie http://wlrn.org/post/best-key-lime-pie-0 <p>Bob Roth left Miami Beach for Davie over 40 years ago to open New River Groves where he &nbsp;sold oranges and other&nbsp; fruit.&nbsp; Little did he know that Key lime pies would put him on the map! We visit Bob at New River Groves , a charming store that’s reminiscent of&nbsp; life in the&nbsp; 50’s and 60’s.</p><p>http://youtu.be/nla2vXf0y5I</p> Fri, 08 Mar 2013 18:49:21 +0000 Meredith Porte 10574 at http://wlrn.org The best key lime pie Sandcastle Sensations http://wlrn.org/post/sandcastle-sensations <p></p><p>Victor Leong is affectionately known by many as the Sandman.&nbsp; He has been building&nbsp; sandcastles professionally on Miami Beach since 1992. Wed, 06 Mar 2013 20:45:41 +0000 Meredith Porte 10459 at http://wlrn.org Sandcastle Sensations SLICE OF LIFE: Cafe Con Leche Culture http://wlrn.org/post/slice-life-cafe-con-leche-culture <p>http://youtu.be/FwqjNQw8AVY</p><p>We stop by the ventanita at a Cuban Cafe down the street from our Miami studios to learn the art of making the perfect Cafe Con Leche.</p> Tue, 18 Sep 2012 18:42:14 +0000 WLRN Staff 1205 at http://wlrn.org SLICE OF LIFE: The Beatles' Personal Photographer Harry Benson http://wlrn.org/post/slice-life-beatles-personal-photographer-harry-benson <p>http://youtu.be/zwXlgbZjkB8</p><p>A look at the personal photographer of the Beatles during their heyday - and their tour of South Florida.</p> Sat, 01 Sep 2012 14:00:00 +0000 WLRN Staff 1193 at http://wlrn.org SLICE OF LIFE: Haitian Street Artist Serge Toussaint http://wlrn.org/post/slice-life-haitian-street-artist-serge-toussaint <p>http://youtu.be/0ICWBIEkk9U</p><p>A look at the inspired Haitian street artist, Serge Toussaint.</p> Thu, 23 Aug 2012 18:16:16 +0000 WLRN Staff 1196 at http://wlrn.org SLICE OF LIFE: Robert Is Here Fruit Stand In Homestead http://wlrn.org/post/slice-life-robert-here-fruit-stand-homestead <p>http://youtu.be/nh5bLmzjmU8</p><p>A look at a popular old-fashioned fruit stand in Homestead.</p> Tue, 21 Aug 2012 14:00:00 +0000 WLRN Staff 1185 at http://wlrn.org SLICE OF LIFE: Miami Music Project http://wlrn.org/post/slice-life-miami-music-project <p>http://youtu.be/-rPv8rcsfZU</p><p>A look at the Miami's Music Project, and composer James Judd's unique approach to music.</p> Thu, 16 Aug 2012 16:00:00 +0000 WLRN Staff 1195 at http://wlrn.org SLICE OF LIFE: Swamp Walking In The Everglades http://wlrn.org/post/slice-life-swamp-walking-everglades <p>http://youtu.be/pnrcBEx38Xg</p><p>Just what kind of person goes on a Swamp Walk? Join us and find out as we experience the Florida Everglades up close and personal!</p> Thu, 16 Aug 2012 14:00:00 +0000 WLRN Staff 1187 at http://wlrn.org