Ariel Gonzalez http://wlrn.org en Short Story Writer: George Saunders http://wlrn.org/post/short-story-writer-george-saunders <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">03/24/14 - Monday's </span><a href="https://www.facebook.com/TopicalCurrents" style="line-height: 1.5;"><strong>Topical Currents</strong></a><span style="line-height: 1.5;">: &nbsp;</span><span style="line-height: 1.5;"><a href="http://www.georgesaundersbooks.com/"><strong>George Saunders</strong></a> has been called one of America’s greatest short story writers. His work astounds readers with its effortless mix of humor and horror. A brilliant satirist, he delights in skewering the foibles of our corporate-driven, consumer-based society. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 29712 at http://wlrn.org Short Story Writer: George Saunders BLASPHEMY: A Collection Of Sherman Alexie's Short Stories http://wlrn.org/post/blasphemy-collection-sherman-alexies-short-stories <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15.454545021057129px; line-height: 22px;">02/03/14 - 1:30 -Literary contributor&nbsp;</span><strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15.454545021057129px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 22px;"><a href="http://wlrn.org/people/ariel-gonzalez" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(62, 72, 122);">Ariel Gonzalez</a></strong><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Geo Mon, 03 Feb 2014 18:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 27422 at http://wlrn.org BLASPHEMY: A Collection Of Sherman Alexie's Short Stories Author Salman Rushdie (Rebroadcast) http://wlrn.org/post/author-salman-rushdie-rebroadcast <p></p> Tue, 31 Dec 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 25806 at http://wlrn.org Author Salman Rushdie (Rebroadcast) Novelist Allan Gurganus http://wlrn.org/post/novelist-allan-gurganus <p></p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 18:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 25802 at http://wlrn.org Novelist Allan Gurganus Renowned Author Salman Rushdie http://wlrn.org/post/renowned-author-salman-rushdie <div style="font-family: 'Segoe UI', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; line-height: normal; margin: 0px;"></div><div style="font-family: 'Segoe UI', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; line-height: normal; margin: 0px;"><font face="Calibri,sans-serif" size="2"><span style="font-size: 11pt;"><font face="Times New Roman,serif" size="4"><span style="font-size: 14pt;">11/13/13 - On the next <a href="http://www.pinterest.com/topicalcurrents/"><strong>Topical Currents </strong></a>we’ll hear from renowned author <a href="http://www.salman-rushdie.com/">Salman Rushdie</a> Wed, 13 Nov 2013 18:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 23618 at http://wlrn.org Renowned Author Salman Rushdie Unusual Upbringing And The Long, Winding Path To Happiness http://wlrn.org/post/unusual-upbringing-and-long-winding-path-happiness <p></p> Mon, 07 Oct 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 21826 at http://wlrn.org Unusual Upbringing And The Long, Winding Path To Happiness Every Boy Should Have a Man http://wlrn.org/post/every-boy-should-have-man <p><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font-size: 15.454545021057129px; line-height: 21.988636016845703px;">09/18/13 - </span><a href="http://wlrn.org/people/ariel-gonzalez" style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; font-size: 15.454545021057129px; vertical-align: baseline; color: rgb(62, 72, 122); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; line-height: 21.988636016845703px;"><strong style="margin: 0px; padding: 0px; border: 0px; vertical-align: baseline;">Ariel Gonzalez</strong></a><span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: Georgia, Times, serif; font Wed, 18 Sep 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 21837 at http://wlrn.org Every Boy Should Have a Man Leftover Angst About The Vietnam War http://wlrn.org/post/leftover-angst-about-vietnam-war <p></p> Mon, 16 Sep 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 20757 at http://wlrn.org Leftover Angst About The Vietnam War Journey From A Life Of Privilege To The Slums of Russia http://wlrn.org/post/journey-life-privilege-slums-russia <p></p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 18:54:38 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 15989 at http://wlrn.org Journey From A Life Of Privilege To The Slums of Russia The Fifth Assassin http://wlrn.org/post/fifth-assassin <p></p> Tue, 14 May 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 14044 at http://wlrn.org The Fifth Assassin Ariel Gonzalez speaks with author Michael Chabon http://wlrn.org/post/ariel-gonzalez-speaks-author-michael-chabon <p></p><p>04/30/13 - Literary contributor Ariel Gonzalez speaks with author Michael Chabon about his latest novel, “<em><strong><a href="http://amzn.to/13sYxTU">Telegraph Road</a></strong></em>” which follows the co-owners of a vintage record store in Oakland who struggle to stay open in the face of black/white tensions, gentrification, and the ghosts of their past. &nbsp;</p> Tue, 30 Apr 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Paul Leary & Ariel Gonzalez 13346 at http://wlrn.org Ariel Gonzalez speaks with author Michael Chabon Judge A Book By Its Cover http://wlrn.org/post/judge-book-its-cover <p></p> Tue, 09 Apr 2013 17:30:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Ariel Gonzalez & Paul Leary 20761 at http://wlrn.org Judge A Book By Its Cover Eating Less Meat; Book Jacket Designer Chip Kidd http://wlrn.org/post/eating-less-meat-book-jacket-designer-chip-kidd <div style="font-family: 'Segoe UI', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; line-height: normal; margin: 0px 0px 10pt;"></div><div style="font-family: 'Segoe UI', Helvetica, Arial, sans-serif; font-size: medium; line-height: normal; margin: 0px 0px 10pt;"><font face="Calibri,sans-serif" size="2"><span style="font-size: 11pt;"><font face="Times New Roman,serif" size="4"><span style="font-size: 14pt;">04/09/13 - Tuesday's&nbsp;</span></font><a href="https://www.facebook.com/TopicalCurrents"><font face="Times New Roman,serif" size="4"><span style="font-size: 14pt;"><b>Topical Currents</ Tue, 09 Apr 2013 17:00:00 +0000 Joseph Cooper, Bonnie Berman, Paul Leary & Ariel Gonzalez 12104 at http://wlrn.org Eating Less Meat; Book Jacket Designer Chip Kidd