Tom Goldman http://wlrn.org en Brazil Wakes Up To Find Tuesday's Nightmare Was Not A Dream http://wlrn.org/post/brazil-wakes-find-tuesdays-nightmare-was-not-dream Host country Brazil was eliminated from the World Cup in epic fashion: Germany defeated Brazil 7-1 during the semifinal match. Brazilians are wondering how their beloved team could be so pulverized. Wed, 09 Jul 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35235 at http://wlrn.org Continental Rivals Take Spotlight In World Cup Quarters http://wlrn.org/post/continental-rivals-take-spotlight-world-cup-quarters NPR's Tom Goldman talks with Robert Siegel from in Rio, Brazil, about Friday's World Cup matches — between Brazil and Colombia, and between Germany and France. Fri, 04 Jul 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 35037 at http://wlrn.org Belgium Ends U.S. Team's World Cup Hopes http://wlrn.org/post/belgium-ends-us-teams-world-cup-hopes The U.S. men's soccer team is out of the World Cup. For 90 minutes, the score was tied at 0-0, but the team lost in extra time to Belgium on Tuesday, 2-1. Wed, 02 Jul 2014 09:05:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 34873 at http://wlrn.org Despite Losing To Germany, U.S. Advances In World Cup http://wlrn.org/post/despite-losing-germany-us-advances-world-cup The U.S. men's soccer team moves on to the World Cup's round of 16. They lost to Germany, but advance because Portugal beat Ghana. The team will get to rest a bit before playing Belgium on Tuesday. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 09:10:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 34643 at http://wlrn.org World Cup Stadium In The Amazon Is Nice, But Is It Needed? http://wlrn.org/post/world-cup-stadium-amazon-nice-it-needed The U.S. plays Portugal in a key World Cup match on Sunday, and it is in the tournament's most exotic locale: Manaus.<p>Manaus is a teeming city of nearly 2 million in the middle of the Amazon rainforest. But it's not some remote outpost; it's the sixth richest city in Brazil, thanks to its Free Trade Zone designation bringing big business like Nokia, Honda and Harley-Davidson.<p>Sunday's game will be the third of only four scheduled in the city's new $300 million World Cup stadium, the Arena da Amazonia. Sat, 21 Jun 2014 21:36:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 34334 at http://wlrn.org World Cup Stadium In The Amazon Is Nice, But Is It Needed? A World Cup Stunner: Spain Fails To Defend Its Crown http://wlrn.org/post/world-cup-stunner-spain-fails-defend-its-crown With an upset by Chile Wednesday, defending World Cup champion Spain has been eliminated from this year's tournament. Wed, 18 Jun 2014 21:18:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 34168 at http://wlrn.org U.S. Soccer Hopes To Shake Shadow Of Recent History Against Ghana http://wlrn.org/post/us-soccer-hopes-shake-shadow-recent-history-against-ghana Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. It's game day for the U.S. men at the World Cup in Brazil. The Americans play their first game at the tournament in just under an hour. They face Ghana, the team that's eliminated the U.S. from the previous two World Cups. NPR's Tom Goldman is in the Brazilian city of Natal for that game, and he joins me now. And Tom, before we start talking about the upcoming U.S. game, let's talk about another big match that's been played today. Mon, 16 Jun 2014 20:07:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 34034 at http://wlrn.org Brazil And Croatia Open World Cup Play On The Pitch http://wlrn.org/post/brazil-and-croatia-open-world-cup-play-pitch Brazil and Croatia face off in the first game of the 2014 World Cup. Organizers hope the start of the tournament directs attention back on the field and away from the problems in preparation. Thu, 12 Jun 2014 21:31:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 33853 at http://wlrn.org U.S. Men's Soccer Team Braces For World Cup Challenges http://wlrn.org/post/us-mens-soccer-team-braces-world-cup-challenges The World Cup begins Thursday in Brazil. The U.S. team has its first match against Ghana the following week, the start of the so called "group of death." Mon, 09 Jun 2014 12:14:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 33611 at http://wlrn.org A Campaign To Bring Back 'America's Distance': The 1-Mile Race http://wlrn.org/post/campaign-bring-back-americas-distance-1-mile-race <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_E-R97LShwA</p> Fri, 06 Jun 2014 21:44:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 33569 at http://wlrn.org A Campaign To Bring Back 'America's Distance': The 1-Mile Race Miami Heat Aims To Win Legacy-Defining 3rd Straight NBA Title http://wlrn.org/post/miami-heat-aims-win-legacy-defining-3rd-straight-nba-title Transcript <p>DAVID GREENE, HOST: <p>The NBA finals begin tonight with the numbers, three or five, figuring to play prominent roles. Here's why. Three, as in the Miami Heat are trying to win a legacy defining third straight title. Five as in the San Antonio Spurs are trying to win a fifth championship since 1999. That is dominance. That would solidify their dynasty status. These two best teams in the league are meeting for the second consecutive year in the finals. And NPR's Tom Goldman is here to tell us why Miami is already miffed before game one even starts. Thu, 05 Jun 2014 11:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 33452 at http://wlrn.org Apology, Defense And Defiance: The Sterlings Speak Out http://wlrn.org/post/apology-defense-and-defiance-sterlings-speak-out Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block. The LA Clippers pulled off a comeback victory last night to tie up their playoff series with the Oklahoma City Thunder, but that's not the Clippers conversation of the day. That conversation centers on Donald Sterling, the now-banned Clippers owner. He has broken his silence.<p>In a CNN interview, Sterling apologized for racist remarks that emerged on an audio tape. Mon, 12 May 2014 20:02:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 32217 at http://wlrn.org Sterling Expected To Fight Forced Sale Of LA Clippers http://wlrn.org/post/sterling-expected-fight-forced-sale-la-clippers Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>The Donald Sterling case is far from over. Yes, the NBA has banned the L.A. Clippers' owner for life and the pro-basketball playoffs have continued. But Sterling has not revealed what he will do after being banned from the league for making racist remarks. He is expected to fight the forced sale of his team and that could have significant consequences.<p>NPR's Tom Goldman reports.<p>TOM GOLDMAN, BYLINE: At this point, without a Donald Sterling public statement on the way forward, we are forced to turn to those he's met in private, such as L.A. Wed, 07 May 2014 09:06:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 31932 at http://wlrn.org NBA Weighs Penalties After Sterling's Alleged Race Remarks Surface http://wlrn.org/post/nba-weighs-penalties-after-sterlings-alleged-race-remarks-surface Controversy is swirling around racist comments allegedly made by Los Angeles Clippers owner Donald Sterling. The NBA is exploring its potential responses as it investigates the allegations. Mon, 28 Apr 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 31505 at http://wlrn.org NCAA Directors Decide To Allow More Freedom To Wealthier Schools http://wlrn.org/post/ncaa-directors-decide-allow-more-freedom-wealthier-schools Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block.<p>Today, the NCAA announced what could be major changes in the way it operates. Among those potential changes, more autonomy for the five wealthiest Division 1 conferences and more benefits for student athletes. The board of directors endorsed the moves today at their headquarters in Indianapolis. Final approval could come in August, when the board meets next.<p>NPR's Tom Goldman has been following developments and he joins us now. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 20:31:00 +0000 Tom Goldman 31325 at http://wlrn.org