Jeff Lunden http://wlrn.org en 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://wlrn.org/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 27337 at http://wlrn.org 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://wlrn.org/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 25959 at http://wlrn.org Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://wlrn.org/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 25233 at http://wlrn.org New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://wlrn.org/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 21500 at http://wlrn.org Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars http://wlrn.org/post/american-masterpiece-and-menagerie-stars Pop-culture aficionadoes will know Zachary Quinto as Spock in the cinematic reboot of <em>Star Trek</em>, and Cherry Jones as President Taylor from television's <em>24</em>.<p>But both are accomplished stage actors as well. And tonight, they're opening on Broadway, in a revival of Tennessee Williams' classic play <em>The Glass Menagerie</em>.<p>When the audience enters the Booth Theater, they see a simple, but striking vision. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 20:51:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 21241 at http://wlrn.org An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park http://wlrn.org/post/loves-labours-tuned-and-playing-park A few years ago, after songwriter Michael Friedman and writer-director Alex Timbers had finished working on their cheeky historical musical <em>Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson</em>, they decided to look for a new project to work on. Friedman says they wanted the next show to have a completely different feel.<p>"So we started looking at Shakespeare," Friedman says. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 21:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 17911 at http://wlrn.org 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park Audra McDonald, A Broadway Star Gone Roaming, Comes Home http://wlrn.org/post/audra-mcdonald-broadway-star-gone-roaming-comes-home In the seven years since her last album, <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15396807" target="_blank">Audra McDonald</a> has kept busy. She spent several years in Hollywood, filming the television series <em>Private Practice</em>. She's gotten divorced and remarried, absorbed the shock of losing her father in a plane crash and watched her daughter, Zoe, grow up from a kindergartener to a middle-schooler.<p>Last year, McDonald returned to New York, starred in <em>Porgy and Bess</em> and won a fifth Tony Award. Sat, 18 May 2013 06:03:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 14275 at http://wlrn.org Audra McDonald, A Broadway Star Gone Roaming, Comes Home 'Matilda' Brings Beloved Book To Broadway http://wlrn.org/post/matilda-brings-beloved-book-broadway <em>Matilda</em> is a well-loved book by Roald Dahl, who's been called the greatest children's storyteller of the 20th century. It's about a much-put-upon little girl with tremendous gifts. Thu, 11 Apr 2013 18:32:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 12297 at http://wlrn.org 'Matilda' Brings Beloved Book To Broadway On Broadway, Old Shows And New Tricks http://wlrn.org/post/broadway-old-shows-and-new-tricks When I was a teenager falling in love with the theater, I picked up a book called <em>Broadway's Greatest Musicals</em>. The sole criterion for inclusion was that a show run for at least 500 performances, which translates to about a year and a quarter.<p>How quaint.<p>I was thinking about that when I attended the 25th-anniversary performance of <em>The Phantom of the Opera,</em> now ranked as Broadway's longest-running musical ever. Sat, 06 Apr 2013 08:33:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 12006 at http://wlrn.org On Broadway, Old Shows And New Tricks Nora Ephron's 'Lucky Guy' And Tom Hanks Make Their Broadway Debuts http://wlrn.org/post/nora-ephrons-lucky-guy-and-tom-hanks-make-their-broadway-debuts Several years ago, when Nora Ephron handed Tom Hanks an early draft of <em>Lucky Guy</em>, her play about tabloid journalist Mike McAlary, he had a pretty strong reaction.<p>"I said, 'Well, that guy's sure a jerk!' I used another word besides jerk — I know what you can say on NPR," he says. "And she laughed and she said, 'Well, he kinda was. Mon, 01 Apr 2013 21:50:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 11765 at http://wlrn.org Nora Ephron's 'Lucky Guy' And Tom Hanks Make Their Broadway Debuts For This Pair Of Clowns, 'Old Hats' Means New Laughs http://wlrn.org/post/pair-clowns-old-hats-mean-new-laughs Twenty years ago, theatrical clowns Bill Irwin and David Shiner collaborated on a Broadway show called <em>Fool Moon</em> — a giddy mixture of slapstick, improv and audience participation that proved such a success that it came back to Broadway for two more runs and toured both the U.S. and Europe. Tue, 05 Mar 2013 23:20:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 10394 at http://wlrn.org For This Pair Of Clowns, 'Old Hats' Means New Laughs Grand Central, A Cathedral For Commuters, Celebrates 100 http://wlrn.org/post/grand-central-cathedral-commuters-celebrates-100 Friday marks the day that 100 years ago, Grand Central Terminal opened its doors for business for the very first time. The largest railroad terminal in the world, the magnificent Beaux-Arts building is in the heart of New York City on 42nd St. Fri, 01 Feb 2013 08:40:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 8685 at http://wlrn.org The Composer Who Tested Fighter Planes And Partied With Sinatra http://wlrn.org/post/composer-who-tested-fighter-planes-and-partied-sinatra <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iTUKHMlbYGA</p> Sat, 26 Jan 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 8367 at http://wlrn.org The Composer Who Tested Fighter Planes And Partied With Sinatra A Vet's Haunted Homecoming In 'Water By The Spoonful' http://wlrn.org/post/vets-haunted-homecoming-water-spoonful The cliche about writers is they should write what they know, and that old saw has certainly worked for Quiara Alegria Hudes. The 35-year-old playwright has mined her Puerto Rican family's stories into a series of plays, a musical and even a children's book. Tue, 08 Jan 2013 08:47:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 7401 at http://wlrn.org A Vet's Haunted Homecoming In 'Water By The Spoonful' The Peony Pavilion: A Vivid Dream In A Garden http://wlrn.org/post/peony-pavilion-vivid-dream-garden <em>The Peony Pavilion</em> is one of China's most famous operas, but uncut performances of this romantic 16th century work can take more than 22 hours. Chinese composer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15167564/tan-dun" target="_blank">Tan Dun</a>, who's best known for his Academy Award-winning score for the film <em>Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon</em>, has adapted the work into a compact 75 minutes. Fri, 30 Nov 2012 09:03:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 5530 at http://wlrn.org The Peony Pavilion: A Vivid Dream In A Garden